My Goals

It’s been silent for a few days. I’m finally able to work again after a knee injury, so naturally, work takes up most of my time. That doesn’t mean I haven’t lost sight of my goals.

So what are my goals with my music?

The ultimate goal is concept albums with songs that work alone, and are stronger when played as an album. The first one is about 25-30% written. The storyline and ideas are set, some of the music is written, and there’s a lot of small ideas for the rest of it that just need to be stitched together. There are two storylines, one musical and one lyrical, that follow each other. I want this album properly produced by a producer that understands and have lived through the music I’m inspired by. This, of course, cost money, which means I have to earn some money first…

And because of this, we will release a few songs at first, and do some split gigs with some other bands to try to make a little before we try to make the rest of the money through crowdfunding. So we can’t release any crap to start with – we just have to produce it cheap.

The two first songs we’ll release are probably going to be “Light in the Sky” and “Join the Ride”. The first one is already released by my former band, Lucid Dreams, with another singer. This was my dearest child in that band, and the lyrics are about my oldest son. It’s going to be heavily rearranged from the Lucid Dreams version, though – I never really cared for the arrangement they decided. I want the bassline different, the drums less square and the 80’s synth gone.

The second song, “Join the Ride” is the one I wrote about in the previous post, “The Writing Process”. I’m looking forward to hear what it will sound like in the rehersal room when we finally get the band together for rehearsals later in the summer.

I’ve got some great musicians with me, and I will write a post about everyone of them some time during the next weeks. Stay tuned!

Leave a comment