The journey begins

Well… It’s been “beginning” for a while. After the years I spent with my former band, Lucid Dreams, I decided to think really long and hard about what I wanted to do musically. It’s a couple of years since I decided, it’s been almost a year since I talked to the musicians I wanted on board, and due to different circumstances, a lot of time has gone by in silence for the world outside.

But now, at the end of the summer of 2018, we’re getting closer to the first presentation of my music.

I’m fighting off the voices in my head that says “it’s not good enough”. On a daily basis. That’s a part of the unfortunate procrastination that has been dominant in most of my adult life. It’s now or never – I have to do this. And hope that enough people like what I do…

For me, it’s always been about the music – not the genres. Although I identify myself as a metalhead, I enjoy the works of a large diversity of composers, bands and artist. Antonin Dvorak, Deep Purple, Kate Bush, Led Zeppelin, Billy Joel, Jeff Buckley, Slayer, Tschaikovsky, Eminem, Judas Priest, Halsey, The Beatles, George Clinton, Black Sabbath, Jethro Tull, Avenged Sevenfold, Rush, Blue Oyster Cult, NWA, Tom Petty, Genesis and Prince – just to mention a few – have all delivered music that I take great pleasure in listening to.

That’s why I don’t think too much about genres when I compose. I’m gonna write the music that’s within me, I’m gonna write whatever feels right. I’ll set a concept for the songs I write, but don’t expect them all to be within the same genre.

However, I hope at least some of you will enjoy my humble addition to the world of music. And if you do, I hope you will support me by buying the the music when it’s released.

Thanks for joining me. Thanks for reading. And thanks for supporting me on my Facebook page.

 

manfredo

Leave a comment